A large crowd on St George
A large crowd on St George's plateau, Liverpool, with the Wallasey Labour Party banner in the foreground.

Constituency Labour parties (CLPs) are based on parliamentary constituencies and the Wallasey CLP covers the same geographical area as the Wallasey parliamentary constituency, whose Labour MP is Angela Eagle. There are six council wards within the parliamentary constituency, each of which elects 3 councillors and there is a Labour party branch in each ward.

The CLP membership is made up of delegates from each of the six Labour branches that’s us – the Wallasey branch – plus the branches in New Brighton, Seacombe, Liscard, Leasowe & Moreton East, and Moreton West & Saughall Massie and also from affiliated trade unions and socialist organisations.

The CLP elects delegates to the Labour Party annual conference and to various other conferences and bodies and nominates candidates to some other bodies, such as the Labour Party national executive and it selects the local Labour candidate for general elections.

The CLP is also involved in much of the campaigning and planning work that goes on within the constituency. It can offer support to individual branches in their local activities and branches can also ask it to help coordinate campaigns across the constituency.

Also the CLP has recently set up Wallasey Young Labour to give a prominent voice to all young Labour members in the Wallasey area.





Link to Instagram Link to Twitter Link to YouTube Link to Facebook Link to LinkedIn Link to Snapchat Close Fax Website Location Phone Email Calendar Building Search